Skip to main content
You can stop non-customers from becoming referrers at either the offer or campaign level within the Mention Me platform.
For background on why non-customers can become referrers by default, see Understanding Non-Paying Referrers.

A guided walkthrough of restricting referrals to paying customers in the Mention Me platform.

At an Offer Level

Follow these steps to ensure only paying customers can refer friends.
1

Duplicate the Offer

In the left-hand menu, click Campaigns, then click the name of the campaign you wish to amend. Click Drafts, Upcoming & History so you can make the change on a draft. If you don’t have one yet, click the experiment actions menu (three dots) and select Duplicate to draft or Create new A/B test.
2

Open Offer Settings

On your draft, click the offer actions menu (three dots), then click View offer settings.
3

Add the Auto-Decline Rule

Click the Auto-Decline Rules tab, then click Add Rule. Select the Referrer Must Be a Paying Customer option.
Auto-Decline Rule: Referrer must be a paying customer option selected in Offer Settings

The 'Referrer must be a paying customer' rule selected in Offer Settings.

4

Save Your Changes

Click Save. Referrals from anyone who hasn’t bought from you will now be declined automatically.

At a Campaign Level

You can block manual registrations for new referrers via the embedded registration page in the campaign settings.
1

Open Campaign Settings

In the left-hand menu, click Campaigns, then click the name of the campaign you wish to amend. Click Manage, then click Settings.
2

Block Manual Registrations

Click the Advanced Options tab, then click the checkbox for Block manual registrations from new referrers (eg via submitting the form on an embedded registration page). This stops people signing up as a referrer through an embedded registration form.
Checkbox for 'Block manual registrations from new referrers' selected in Advanced Options of Campaign Settings

The 'Block manual registrations from new referrers' checkbox selected in Campaign Settings Advanced Options.

3

Save Your Changes

Click Save changes at the bottom of the page.
Last modified on November 4, 2026